Erasmus Mundus Scholarship

Erasmus Mundus Scholarship

The EMJMD, An Erasmus Mundus Scholarship or Erasmus Mundus Joint Master degree program is a combined, and Prestigious internationally recognized study program for all over world aspirants and delivered by the international association of joint higher education institutions.

The board of EMJMDs award EU-funded scholarships to the bright student applicants who are applying under annual selection rounds.

The Study program must take place at a minimum of two universities in the Programme countries. If there is a Partner-Country university involved, some Parts of the studies will also take place in Partner countries.

Erasmus+ is the European Union program aim to support education, youth, training, and sport in Europe. having the  budget of €14.7 billion that provide the opportunities for over 4 million students to study, train, and gain experience abroad.

Aim Of Erasmus Mundus Scholarship

The main aim of Erasmus+ is to provide support to the Europe 2020 strategy for jobs, growth, social equity and inclusion, also the objectives of ET2020, the European Union strategic context for training and education.

It also aims to encourage the sustainable progress of its partners in the higher education field and contribute to realizing the purposes of the EU Youth Strategy.

Duration of Erasmus Mundus Scholarship

The Erasmus Mundus Scholarship (EMJMD) is a study program of 60, 90, or 120ECTS credits (Click on ECTS credits to learn about it), which means that the study program will last from 12 to a maximum of 24 months.

Academic outcome

On the successful completion of the study, the program will lead to the reward of a joint Master degree (i.e., one single master degree certificate awarded on behalf of at least two higher education bodies of the EMJMD consortium to the candidate) or multiple degrees (i.e., the candidate will receive at least two-degree certificates that are issued by two higher education institutions of the EMJMD consortium).

Contact the appropriate authorities concerned to find out whether an EMJMD scholarship program is recognized in a given country, and provide them with the official name of the course.

Financial support

To receive an Erasmus Mundus financial support, first of all, you have to be admitted onto the desired course by the organizing association and then be selected for an EMJMD scholarship program body.

The EMJMD grant program takes care of your participation costs (such as education costs or fees, library and research facility costs, full insurance coverage and some other obligatory costs related with your support in the Master); it represents support to your travel and installation costs and incorporates a monthly survival grant for the whole span of the study program.

According to the duration of your study program and based on your nationality, the total scholarship amount is varying (non-EU students receive more substantial scholarships).

Up to 75% of the Erasmus Mundus scholarships are granted to candidates from Partner countries.

Eligibility criteria:

  • The Students of Master’s level from worldwide can apply.
  • According to the national legislation from the state-recognized university, you must have a valid Higher Education Degree such as Bachelor’s degree or prove an equivalent to a Bachelor’s degree.
  • You are not eligible for an additional Erasmus Scholarships award if you have already received an Erasmus Mundus Master Course/Joint Doctorate scholarship, or any EMJMD grant. While you are receiving an EMJMD scholarship, You cannot benefit from another EU-funded scholarship scheme.
  • You are not eligible to apply for an additional EMJMD scholarship in case if you already receive the EMJMD or Erasmus Mundus Scholarship for Master course/Joint Doctoral program. While you will not be benefited from another EU-funded scheme if you are availing an EMJMD scholarship.
  • The list of those countries whose students are eligible to apply the EMJMD program is presented here. The differentiation is used between program country and partner country students. 
  • The monthly stipend (Subsistence allowance) is not given to those students who are from the partner country for the EMJMD periods beyond three months spent in any one partner country (indicatively the equaling to the credits of 15ECTS).
  • According to the 12-months rule, if the students from partner countries carried out there some activities such as work, study, etc. in any program country (EU+ Turkey, Norway, Iceland, Macedonia, Lichtenstein) for 12 months in last five years will be considered as a program country applicant.
  • Students can apply for a maximum of three different subjects or joint programs supported by the Erasmus Mundus scholarship program for a given academic year. (see the EMJMD catalog).
  • The applicants must provide proof of their English proficiency certificate by submitting test results of CAE/CPE, TOEFL, or IELTS. 

If you want to read Detailed information on the Erasmus Mundus opportunities, including eligibility criteria, are available in the Erasmus+ Programme Guide. An indicative funding guide for some centralized opportunities is also available.


Want to know more about EMJMDs please have a look at Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) of Erasmus Mundus official site.


2 thoughts on “Erasmus Mundus Scholarship”

Leave a Comment